Comic Book Makeup Tutorial

Comic 9

 

Hi my lovlies!

We’re getting close to Halloween! If you don’t have a costume and you don’t want to invest too much into a costume you’ll only wear once…I’ve got an idea for you! This comic book tutorial is great because you can use what you have on hand for the most part. Let’s get started!

First things first, let’s perfect our canvas. For foundation I’m using Revlon Nearly Naked with my Sephora brand “beauty blender”. I then concealed my under-eye area using Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium using the same sponge. Use whatever you have on hand, but dry to stay on the matte side as we’re trying to flatten our face. To further mattify, take a powder and press it into your skin.

No Shine Zone, lol

No Shine Zone, lol

I started on the my eyes first, specifically my eyebrows. I used an eyeliner (I used the Maybelline eyeliner pen) to outline my exaggerated brows. I then took my black face paint and filled them in. I found both my black and white face paints at Target for $1.00. I then based my eyelid with Nyx Jumbo Pencil in Milk and decided to go with a blue eyeshadow (Lancome “All Made Up”); any bright color will work, that’s just what I had on hand. I packed the color on my lid; to clean it up I look a little more product on a fluffy brush and brought the color above my crease area. I then added an exaggerated wing.

 

 

IMG_1122

Not the brows to wear to work, but remember we’re going for something more animated than the norm!

 

 

 

Comic 3

Using my black paint, the tip of a foundation brush, and the eyeliner I used earlier, I “contoured” my face. You can take this as far as you’d like; take into consideration the demeanor you want your character to have (cute-sy, sad, etc.) when decided what expressions line to add. I wanted her to more on the cute-sy side :-). Also with your lines, remember it’ll be much easier to add more expression than to remove them, so you may want to add less lines and then after adding your dots, add more expression lines.

Comic 4

 

Next we’ll start the dots. You can use a pencil or paint for this; I used paint because I like the brighter look of paint dots. And you don’t have to use white for your dots, that’s just what I thought would look good on me. Using the end of a eye brush, start making your dots. I would advise working in small sections horizontally on your face. This part takes the longest and the more patient you are with it, the better it will turn out. You can also extend your dots down your neck, if you’d like (depending on what you’re wearing). After finishing my dots, I went over my expression lines to make sure they still stood out and weren’t covered with dots.

Comic 5

Definitely play with the the dot size you like; this will not only be determined by the brush end you pick, but also the pressure that you apply while dotting.

We’re almost finished! For a look this animated you need lashes. I’m using the Ardell Glamour Wispies lashes. I applied them using Duo glue. I then added mascara to help blend my lashes with the falsies. I lined my bottom lash line with my NYX Milk pencil and took my eyeliner and lined below the white line I just made. This will make your eyes look larger and more animated once we’re finished. I then covered my lower lashes with mascara.

 

Time for lips! Take a bright color (I used Maybelline Hot Plum) and apply it to your lips. I look my eyeliner and lined my lips, coloring the corners of my lips with the black eyeliner. I took a q-tip in my white paint and added a little shine mark on my bottom (my favorite part, hehe).

This is my finished product!

IMG_1152

Hit the “Like” button if you like this look! Happy Halloween!!

XOXO

Brittani

Leave a Reply

